APC Southeast governors get thumbs up for supporting Buhari’s re-run ambition

APC governors have been praised for supporting President Muhammadu Buhari’s re-run move

– Leaders of the party in the region expressed their joy over the governors’ move in a communique on Thursday, April 26

– The party leaders urged the governors and indigenes of the zone to keep supporting the re-election bid of the president

The leaders of south-east All Progressives Congress (APC) have commendation governors in the party for unanimously adopting President Muhammadu Buhari for a second term.

They made the commendation in a communiqué issued after the meeting of the leaders of APC in that region in Enugu on Thursday, April 26, the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports.

The communiqué, passed by the leaders, was signed by the national vice-chairman south-east of APC, Emma Eneukwu and zonal publicity secretary of APC, Hycienth Ngwu.

The leaders urged the governors and the entire people of the zone to support the re-election bid of the president.

The communiqué read: “We urge the South-East governors and all the good people of the zone to support President Buhari, to pave the way for the Igbo Presidency in 2023.

“We commend the President for his massive infrastructure developments, ongoing in the South-East. “We commend our members in the national working committee and our state chairmen for the peace and progress they have brought to the party in the zone.

“We, hereby, pass a vote of confidence on them (members in the national working committee from the zone and state chairmen of the party).’’

The meeting was attended by APC stalwarts in the zone, including the minister of science and technology, Ogbonnaya Onu and minister of labour and employment, Chris Ngige.

Other are: deputy governor of Imo, Eze Madumere and director-general of Voice of Nigeria (VON), Chief Osita Okechukwu, Senator Andy Uba; Senator C. Ogbunoji; Senator Ben Uwajumogu; the leader of south-east APC caucus in House of Representatives, Chief Raphael Igbokwe also attended the meeting.

The meeting also include: National Organising Secretary, Senator Osita Izunaso; national auditor, George Moghalu; deputy national women leader, Chief Tina Adike; Senator Ifeanyi Araraume; Senator Emma Agboti and Senator Chris Nwankwo.

The rest are: former governor of old Anambra, Chief Jim Nwobodo; former governor of Ebonyi , Chief Martin Elechi; national officers of the party from the south-east states.

State chairmen of the party in the zone and prominent party leaders in the zone also attended the meeting.